Uber’s popularity continues to grow in Denver and throughout Colorado. By logging into an app, a person can have a driver pull up right to their door to pick them up. Many people enjoy Uber’s low fares and quality service.
However, Ubers have been involved in many accidents over the years, and questions always arise about who is responsible for a crash.
We have written this post to explain Uber accident claims and to identify who you need to contact for compensation for your injuries.
Identify Who is to Blame
Colorado is a “fault” state, meaning that the driver who is responsible for an accident must pay compensation to victims. These rules apply even if you were involved in an Uber car accident.
There are several scenarios our clients find themselves in:
- You are a passenger in an Uber, and the Uber driver is to blame for the crash. For example, the driver might have backed up without checking his mirrors or have been tailgating another vehicle.
- You are a passenger in an Uber, and another driver is to blame for the crash. Someone else on the road could have struck your Uber, injuring you.
- You are a motorist who is struck by an Uber driver. The Uber driver is to blame.
Once you have identified the driver at fault for the collision, you will know who to contact about filing an accident claim.
File a Claim with Uber if their Driver is to Blame
As an Uber car accident passenger, you will contact Uber’s insurer when their driver is at fault. Uber has a sizeable insurance policy, which should cover all of your expenses. You will submit medical bills, wage information, and other documents as requested. Get the insurance information from your Uber driver soon after the crash. Uber drivers have a policy which provides up to $1 million in insurance coverage.
If you weren’t a passenger but still were struck by Uber, you will also contact Uber to file a claim. The amount of insurance available will vary, however. If the driver was not on their way to pick up a ride, then coverage is available for the following:
- $50,000 per person
- $100,000 per accident
- $25,000 property damage
Once an Uber driver accepts a ride or has a passenger in their vehicle, then at least $1 million is available in insurance coverage.
File a Claim with Another Driver’s Insurer when Another Driver is to Blame
You might be a passenger in an Uber, but someone else struck your vehicle. In this case, you will submit a claim to that driver’s insurer. You don’t submit to Uber unless their driver somehow contributed to the crash.
Unfortunately, Colorado does not expect motorists to have much insurance. The minimum policy limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability
- $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability
- $15,000 in property damage
This is quite a bit less than what Uber has for coverage, so your full injuries might not be covered. However, Uber does carry $1 million in underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. So if you suffered $100,000 in medical bills, Uber should have you covered.
Experienced Uber Accident Claims Attorneys
Olson Law Firm is here to help if you have been involved in an accident. To schedule a free initial consultation, please contact us. We have years of experience and know how to obtain favorable settlements for our clients.
Sean Olson is much more than just a personal injury lawyer. Sean is an advocate who helps those who are injured navigate our complex legal system. And he is a voice for those who are injured and cannot speak for themselves.