Obtaining a Motorcycle License in Colorado

motorcyclist practicing for exam

Colorado’s stunning scenery and beautiful mountain passes make it an ideal environment for motorcyclists. But before you fire up your bike, you must have a valid motorcycle license. 

Obtaining your Colorado motorcycle license is relatively straightforward, and knowing the requirements ahead of time can make the process smoother and easier for you. 

How to Get a Motorcycle License in Colorado

According to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), there are two ways to apply for your motorcycle endorsement. The first option requires you to: 

  • Take and pass the written motorcycle knowledge exam.
  • Purchase a motorcycle instruction permit.
  • Schedule an appointment at a DMV office to take the motorcycle road skills test.
  • Purchase a new driver’s license to obtain your motorcycle endorsement.

The steps for the second option are as follows:

  • Complete an approved motorcycle operator safety training course.
  • Schedule an appointment with a local DMV office.
  • Bring your certificate showing you completed the safety course to your appointment.
  • Purchase a new driver’s license to obtain your motorcycle endorsement.

Once you have completed the necessary steps, you can add a motorcycle endorsement to your Colorado driver’s license. There are two types of motorcycle endorsements: 

  • The “M” endorsement, which allows you to operate a two-wheeled or three-wheeled motorcycle
  • The “3” endorsement, which enables you to use three-wheeled motorcycles

What Are the Motorcycle License Requirements?

You must be 16 years old to obtain a motorcycle instruction permit. Drivers under 18 must hold their motorcycle instruction permit for at least one year before adding a motorcycle endorsement to their driver’s license.

To obtain your motorcycle instruction permit, you must pass a written knowledge test, bring approved documents to verify your identity, and pay the applicable fee

What Is the Penalty for Riding a Motorcycle Without a License?

If you are caught operating a motorcycle without a license in Colorado, you could be fined up to $100 and have demerit points added to your license. Driving a motorcycle without a license or permit also leaves you vulnerable to legal action if you are involved in an accident. For these reasons, we strongly recommend you obtain your instruction permit or license before operating a motorcycle.

How Much is a Motorcycle License?

The current fee to obtain your motorcycle instruction permit in Colorado is $18.52. Once you have completed the steps necessary to get your full motorcycle license, you will need to pay for a new license, which will cost $12 or $16, depending on whether this is the first duplicate you have requested. There is also a $2 fee to add a motorcycle endorsement to your license.

Contact Our Motorcycle Accident Attorneys for Help

A valid Colorado motorcycle license is no guarantee that you will avoid an accident. If you have been injured in a Colorado motorcycle accident, contact the Olson Law Firm, LLC, today to learn how we can help you seek compensation for your injuries.